SHED A LITTLE LIGHT MUSIC CHALLENGE

7 Lesser Known British Invasion Songs

The Brits were a bit of all right in the Sixties.

Barry Silverstein
6 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

Photo by Antoine J. on Unsplash

Thanks to Buddy Gott and his “Shed a Little Light Music Challenge,” I have to reveal the fact that I am an American with an undying love for the music of the British Invasion.

I know, I know… some music enthusiasts would say it’s simply copycat stuff that plays back the original American sound from the other side of the pond. But I know better, because I was actually a teen when the Brits popped onto the American scene. Yes, I was alive when those mop-haired boys from Liverpool first arrived!

Most everyone recognizes the contributions of The Beatles and Rolling Stones, but there were many talented musical artists who followed them. Some lasted a while and others flared out rather quickly.

I’ve picked seven “lesser known” songs from the British Invasion era that I enjoyed then and still enjoy now for reasons I will attempt to explain. I hope you like them too.

Go Now! — The Moody Blues

In fairness to The Moody Blues, “Go Now!” was certainly not “lesser known” when it was first released in 1964. In fact, in 1965, the record reached Number 1 in the UK, Number 2 in Canada and…

--

--

Barry Silverstein

Author and retired marketing pro. I write about brands, people and pop culture with an eye on history. Please visit my website: www.barrysilverstein.com